don't go changing

last night i was in the grocery store at about 7pm. it's that time when everyone's a little hungry, a little tired, you just want to go home, and the last place in the world you want to be is waiting in line to pay at the grocery store. anyways, i'm standing there with my basket listening to the 'adult contemporary' radio station that's playing. the song is by billy joel. i catch myself mindlessly singing along. when i look up i realize that almost every person in the line is mouthing the words as well.

Don't go changing to try and please me

You never let me down before

Don't imagine you're too familiar

And I don't see you any more

I would not leave you in times of trouble

We never could have come this far

I took the good times

I'll take the bad times

I'll take you just the way you are

of the 15 williamsburg hipsters that were in line about 10 were singing. gazing down at their shoes singing, looking blankly dead ahead singing, staring at the ceiling singing. singing this hopelessly romantic and corny, yet totally familiar song. like a quiet, daydreamy and slightly discontented choir.